Posted by: Anurag Ojha | April 6, 2008

I wonder why I wonder

I wonder why, I wonder why,
I wonder why I wonder;
I wonder why, I wonder why
I wonder why I wonder!

~Richard Feynman

Reply to someone who asked me if I really understood the context of the quote(needless to say I was trying to impress her, she was so pissed off she wont reply after my 2nd email *shrugs*):

I cant say I truly understand one of the most classic(and abstract) quotes by a genius … someone who saw infinity in a grain of sand. But even though I had heard this quote before, it was a very unique revelation when Dr Jayaraman said it at the Centre of Science Communication Seminar on Creative writing in Science and Fiction. Old men i guess.

It occurred to me that this might be the secret of humanity. Metacognition! the ability to consciously think about thinking. Those words are probably the very proof of Man’s sapience or wisdom.

What builds my inner value? Why do I feel guilty when I do wrong? How would I want to be remembered when I die? But most importantly – Why must I question?

A giant oak emerges out of the seeds in the droppings of a bird – The original context of the quote does not matter to me.

 

Responses

  1. Sometimes simple quotes are more meaningful than fancy ones. But I guess it all depends on current emotional state of the reader.

  2. it s 1 of my fav quotes..
    well written!

  3. “i read quotes everywhere.. something happens and i try to coin a quote for my own.. they don’t get published.. no one except me see them floating all over”
    pheww.. thats juss me 🙂

    i like quotes by oscar wilde, fav one being
    “Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone elses opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”

  4. Yeah sometimes I feel we are all cheap impersonators 😀
    But then quotations inspire action. Quotations are truths in a very condensed form. Thank god there is no copyright on actions. Merely sitting on quotations is just waste. There i agree with you and Oscar Wilde(rip)


Leave a Reply

Categories

