Posted by: Anurag Ojha | April 12, 2008

Alizée – L’Effet

This post is dedicated to the beautiful song by Alizee “L’Effet”, The last track in her third studio album Psychédélices. Its simply beautiful.

For those of you who dont know Alizee is a mom now. She is married to Jérémy Chatelain and has a two year old daughter Anny-lee or Annily. L’Effect is a lullaby for her little girl and a young mother’s awe over her daughter! 🙂

Listen to the Song here or view the trailer video of the making of l’Effet.

Read on to listen to the full song, lyrics, links and album review!

Here are the lyrics and the English translation of the the song L’Effet

I thought I made you
Little fairy
But it’s you who made me
Much more than the effect
It’s you who made me
become a little divine
By giving you your life
I imagine that you will delight me
Through the life
And each day God creates
I celebrate you

The trees in the wind
which lifts these sheets
It swings for you
What were they doing before

The marble in the wind
That raises and takes off
It engraves the name
That you read on my lips
Your name that all says
Long before it’s announced

I thought I made you
Little fairy
But it’s you who made me
Much more than the effect

Long will be the effect
Always it will last
To me your years
The maternal effect
Always it will last
The maternal effect

I love when you fall a sleep
I dream you awake
You are more than a treasure
A secret of lulling

And the sky can be expected
To you I stretch my arms
I have endless heart
To joy from here below
There’s nothing to understand
Love is beyond the laws

I thought I made you
Little fairy
But it’s you who made me
Much more than the effect

Long will be the effect
Always it will last
To me your years
The maternal effect
Always it will last
The maternal effect

Je croyais t’avoir faite
Petite fée
Mais c’est toi qui me fais
Bien plus que de l’effet
C’est toi qui m’a fait
Devenir un peu divine
En te donnant ta vie
Je devine que tu vas me ravir
Toute la vie
Et chaque jour que Dieu fait
Je te fête

Les arbres sous le vent
Qui soulève ce drap
Se balancent pour toi
Que faisaient-ils avant

Le marbre sous le vent
Qui se lève et t’enlève
Se gravera du nom
Que tu lis sur mes lèvres
Ton nom que tout prononce
Bien avant qu’il t’annonce

Je croyais t’avoir faite
Petite fée
Mais c’est toi qui me fais
Bien plus que de l’effet

Long sera l’effet
Toujours il va durer
De moi à tes années
L’effet mère
Toujours il va durer
L’effet mère

J’adore quand tu t’endors
Je te rêve éveillée
Tu es plus qu’un tréso
Un secret à bercer

Et le ciel peut s’attendre
À te tendre les bras
J’ai le cœur à pierre fendre
Des bonheurs d’ici-bas
Il n’y a rien à comprendre
L’amour est hors la loi

Je croyais t’avoir faite
Petite fée
Mais c’est toi qui me fais
Bien plus que l’effet

Long sera l’effet
Toujours il va durer
De moi à tes années
L’effet mère
Toujours il va durer
L’effet mère

(Lyrics translation by RMJ at alizee forums, my thanks to him)

To really understand the words one has to know french because literal translation just wont translate the essence and inner beauty of the songs Alizee sings. Her songs a filled with double meaning and puns. effet mère sounds exactly like the word “éphémère” which means ephemeral or short lived!

Alizee dropped her Lolita persona after parting ways from her creative mentor and the arthitect of Alizee – Mylène Farmer, a legend in her own right in France. Alizée collaborated with other talents of the French Music Industry like Bertrand Burgalat, Daniel Darc, Oxmo Puccino, Jérémy Châtelain, Michel-Yves Kochmann, and Jean Fauque on this album.

I would rate the album has pretty good. Jean Faque was the main lyricist and he has done a splendid job. This album clearly lacks the Mylene touch and Alizee has departed from her former sugar-coated catchy tunes to explore different other styles. Highly recommended.

“All Lolitas grow up in the end. Now at 23, Alizée’s art more closely reflects the woman she has become today.”

Toujours il va durer … L’effet mère .. Lily – you are a beautiful woman and may the good lord bless you and your child.

Links:

Responses

  1. I liked the previous Alizee albums(Mes Courants Electriques, Gourmandises) better. The new one is good – but I still liked the old ones better.

  2. Alizee is simply awasome . and i thought she is teenager and i was shocked when i heared that she is marred and got a baby.

  3. alizee resembels to much with the british acteress Emma Watson. and i will be wating for the respons from alizee.


Leave a Reply

Categories

