Posted by: Anurag Ojha | July 1, 2008

The Encounter

I have a sketchy memory of the incident but this is what I remember.

I was finally on my way back home to Jamnagar, Gujarat. On the train, it was not like last time (:D) Only some boring old people. Happily holding on to their newly issues blankets and white sheets and eagerly checking and shouting out if they had a faintest stain. Come Baroda station and at the adjacent local compartment, there was a sight to see. Not less than 40 young gujarati businessmen, trying to get in through the poor door. I wondered how would a lady passenger board that compartment.

I washed my face and then suddenly a young lady dashed into the compartment. In the yellow light of the bulb her face was shining from perspiration and she was violently gasping for breath. A fear gripped me, was I concerned? Is she all right? Is she putting up an act? I was caught for a second. And in that one second I captured(and assumed) her several details with such efficiency that id have made an instructor at CIA proud. She was wearing those faded orange tshirt and traveling pants like those foreign tourists wear. Her golden complexion and thin brownish hair. I walked back into the compartment but my thoughts left behind. Her huge brownish eyes looked so terrified. Is she all right?

Barely 2 minutes had passed. I had to go back. But I just came from there … humm … TOILET! … so I went back. She was still there, talking to someone on phone. Entered the bathroom, took off my glasses (nice greenish brown eyes dude, i winked) splashed water on my face. Came out, she was still talking … OOPS! … in not leaving. She kept staring at me while talking on her phone for some 5 minutes (or was it a second). Abruptly she hung up, and I asked her immediately…

AO: “Are you Okay?”

Gal: “Yes i …”

AO: “You really looked breathless, so i thought of asking if you were okay”

Gal: “Im fine, was just trying to get into the general compartment, but it was so crowded. I have this problem of heavy breathing when I get tensed”

AO: “Is your ticket on wait list? you can pay these Ticket guys and get a seat in Sleeper class or AC. They will consider your case cos ur not too well” (i thot she was from abroad, with a waitlisted ticket)

Gal: “hum middleclass ke log hain, nahi afford kar sakte

She said this in a way that I have not been able to figure out to this day.

Should i speak in english? hindi … what does she …

AO: “Are you in college? cos usually (me smiley) college people get into trouble like this, last minute reservations and stuff” (she smiled back)

Gal: “No”

AO: “Ah, I thought you were, so wanted to offer you help or advice” (oh was I indeed!?)

A middle aged guy wearing glasses, standing right beside her all this time, who from his looks was undoubtedly was a gentleman who spoke only when required, interrupted our one sided conversation.

“She is not going far, will get down at Rajkot”

AO: “(me blushing) Oh okay! Take care then!”

I was still red. Dont know why. Did the AC guys turn down the cooler.

Rajkot passed 11:00pm. Its 11:30. She is still on the train, sitting inside the compartment now.

I felt so excited, yet I dont exactly know for what reason.

Responses

  1. bummer…middle-aged-man spoiled the fun 😛

  2. she gave u her number!!! didnt she?

  3. no 😦
    I was too red to ask.

    Hey have I been able to convey that there might just be a chance that she was a hooker!?

    Did i mention, she was wearing contact lenses?

  4. what color contacts? u sure?

    well, thanks for dropping by and looking at my stuff! I am working on a Castle now. Just taking a break from it cause i have been working on it all day and I am at work..laslalalal.

  5. Is it a real one.
    I bet somebody’s been cooking 🙂
    Good one though. Seems like a plot out of one of chetan bhagat’s buk

  6. Oe not cooking 😡
    Mera narco analysis karle

  7. Stud you.
    Shuda been a rockstar.
    Get you anything, and the girls come easy.
    Also the free food.
    Good deviants.
    liked Rama 🙂

  8. dude … Kurt Cobain was the last Rockstar 😉

  9. wow yaar aage bhi to kuch bol. i m excited more than u as u know abt me hahahhaha. yaar tune mujhe us time phine kyun nahi kiya kash mere saath bhi aisa ho. i m still waiting to get encountered in such a lucky way [:p]

  10. Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be wow.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog ‘and back up’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. 🙂

    Cheers,

  11. Well, thank you for the words 🙂
    Im new to blogging and its always nice to hear from people who share similar interests!
    Will surely checkout rambhai.com

    Regards

  12. I really am impressed with how much you have worked to make this website so enjoyable. Thanks a lot for your effort. Many thanks to the person who made this post, this was very informative for me. Please continue this awesome work.

  13. HEY ENCOUNTERED MAN,

    UR LUCKY………..

    “hum middleclass ke log hain, nahi afford kar sakte“
    hahahah……………………..that was ur first encounter????????

  14. are u on facebook?????//


Leave a Reply

Categories

